Three quarterbacks lead the 2014 Heisman Trophy odds

Betting on the winner of the Heisman Trophy hasn’t been easy in recent years because the favorites have usually disappointed after being hyped with promise, and this is an award that comes with certain unpredictability.

It has to be said that this unpredictability has nothing to do with position, as this has been a quarterback trophy for a while. Still, predicting the winner is not easy, despite the fact that you can eliminate key positions as candidates, like the entire defensive side.

America’s Bookie has posted an early batch of Heisman Trophy odds for next season. These odds have already moved some and will continue to do so in the coming weeks and months. It might be early, but it’s never too early to start considering a few names with great value.

Unsurprisingly, three quarterbacks lead the Heisman Trophy odds. Florida State’s Jameis Winston at +200, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota at +300 and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller at +450.

Winston, Mariota and Miller are three tremendous playmaking quarterbacks with a unique style. Any of them is a safe bet with tremendous value, although Winston is concentrating on baseball for now and has had some off-field issues.

Georgia running back Todd Gurley is the non-quarterback with the best odds on the board at +1250. Just two running backs have won the Heisman Trophy since 2000, and one of those was vacated. UCLA linebacker and part-time running back Myles Jack is the defensive player with the best odds at +2500.

Notre Dame quarterback Everett Golson (+1750) is the player not competing in a power conference with the best odds. The last player to win the Heisman Trophy not coming from a power conference was BYU quarterback Ty Detmer in 1990. The last Heisman Trophy winner from Notre Dame was Tim Brown in 1987.

Below are the complete odds to win the 2014 Heisman Trophy at America’s Bookie:

Ameer Abdullah +2000
Bo Wallace +4500
Braxton Miller +450
Brett Hundley +950
Bryce Petty +550
Cody Kessler +2000
Connor Cook +2000
Dak Prescott +4500
Davis Webb +4500
Derrick Henry +1750
Duke Johnson +2000
Everett Golson +1750
Jameis Winston +200
Karlos Williams +3500
Marcus Mariota +300
Matt Johnson +6000
Maty Mauk +2500
Melvin Gordon +1250
Mike Davis +1250
Myles Jack +2500
Nick Marshall +3500
Rakeem Cato +5000
Sean MAnnion +1750
T.J. Yeldon +950
Taylor Kelly +2000
Todd Gurley +1250
Trevor Knight +2000